Skip to content

More Fun With More Done

October 19, 2010

Image of a yawning Beagle relaxing on a couch.Yesterday, Bill caught me yawning at my desk. A terrible thing, the yawn is; the subtle threat of potentially less than perfect productivity. It is a small act that can lead one’s mind to the image of an unconscious employee, a little bit of drool pooling on the desk. (Disclaimer: I do solemnly swear I shall never exhibit such an image.)

In the November issue of Fortune Magazine, Michal Lev-Ram wrote an article called “Work Less, Do More” in which he shares his experience attending a seminar on the “more energetic worker.” This semniar, lead by The Energy Project, communicated – and demonstrated – that a break-an-hour, lunch out of the office, and answering emails only about twice a day created a more energetic, happy, and productive worker.

Get it Done

In my previous employment, I worked long hours at my desk and was little more than frustrated with the requirement that I take an hour long break for lunch once a day. Sometimes, when I had a need to meet someone on the lunch hour, I took advantage of it, but for the most part I just wanted to eat something at my desk and get as much of the ‘too-much-to-do’ that I always had on my plate. It I took a break, the reality was that it was taken at my desk anyway – I usually spent the time catching up on my digital social life, and making plans for the evening by way of Facebook Messages or IMs. I’m not sure if Tony Schwartz, The Energy Project founder and Author of The Way We’re Working Isn’t Working: The Four Forgotten Needs That Energize Great Performance. Would say that these breaks of mine where really breaks at all, but that’s how I spent my time.

Image of a stack of papers.Get it Done Well

The ‘too-much-to-do’ that was always on my plate to do wasn’t infrequently left un-done, despite my continuous efforts to get the tasks finished. The idea that increasing the frequency with which I let these tasks sit would have helped me get them done faster is one that seems quite counter-intuitive. All the same, it’s something I feel like makes a certain amount of sense. It seems a part of the classic war of Quality vs. Quantity, save that in this sense the improvement in quality naturally increases quantity. The amount and frequency of time spent not correlating exactly with the amount of work done.

Once it’s all said and done, I like the idea. Like Lev-Ram, I don’t plan on checking my email any less frequently, but I think I’ll make an effort to spend more time oiling my gears, and try to produce better while I’m working.

At Gunwel, we commit to getting the work done, and getting it done well. We could call it ‘Getting it Gunwel.’  Stop by anytime or give us a call at 212-979-6830 to set up your free consultation, today! Visit our website at www.gunwel.com or find us onFacebook.

Source: Lev-Ram, Michal. “Work Less, Do More” Fortune  Nov. 2010: 56.

Comments are closed.

