Skip to content

That’s Me With My Old-New Knees!

December 1, 2010

My health insurance is through Empire Blue Cross. I can’t say I’m happy with the insurance, but I’m not going to complain either simply because I had both of my knees replaced in 2009 and they paid 99% of the bill. I had both knees done at the same time (NO, I would never recommend that to anyone) and then the left knee became infected a month later and I had to have it done again! On the 2nd go round I paid ZERO. I’m healthy as a horse (other than the  new knees and they are great now!) but each month I pay this huge premium and quasi-fuss about the payment…then remember the knees (and what I didn’t have to pay).Holding up the rock

 In the mail, yesterday,  I received a notice about the new changes because of the Health Care Reform Act (now a law) that takes place January 1, 2011. Here are the highlights:

  • No lifetime dollar limits or maximums – any eligible family member who previously reached his or her lifetime maximum on your existing policy can enroll for benefits.
  • Dependent children up tp age 30 can still stay on your policy, but eligibility requirements have changed for children up to age 26.
  • No annual dollar limits on essential health benefits.
  • No pre-existing condition limits for dependent children under the age of 19.
  • No cost-sharing for covered preventive care benefits received in-network.

Health care reform means ongoing change. As I find out more I will pass it on to you. Meanwhile if you have any questions or concerns please contact us at GAI (www.gunwel.com) by phone at 212-979-6830 or just stop by for a visit. We are here to help. See you soon!

Comments are closed.

