Skip to content

Do You Recycle?

December 9, 2010

I saw some startling figures about waste in our country that I wanted to share.

  • 42% of Americans have curbside recycling.
  • $11.5 Billion is what it costs for litter clean up in the United States.
  • Waste management recycles or reuses enough materials in one year to fill 12.5 Empire State Buildings; 17,000 train cars; 111,500 Boeing 737s; 6 U.S Capital buildings.Waste

I have never been religious about recycling until I moved to San Francisco years ago (many, many years ago) as that is what you did with your garbage. And if you did not you were publicly scorned. When I moved to New York City recycling wasn’t as much of a religious event as it was in SF. In our apartment building where we deposit our trash there are various bins that we can separate the recycling, other than the main trash shoot. One of the janitors told me one morning that  they must go through all the garbage themselves (that goes down the shoot) and pick out the various recycling that is then put onto the streets. At that moment I felt bad that there may have been a soda bottle in with the main garbage I tossed down the shoot. So recycling is now my mantra as I take out the trash.

At GAI (www.gunwel.com) there are lots of ways we can help you be fiscally responsible. Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. See you soon!

Comments are closed.

