Skip to content

What Not To Wear To The Opera

December 13, 2010

Lincoln CenterI had my first Opera experience at Lincoln Center on Saturday.  I’ve been told by many people how great the experience is and that everyone should try it at least once. As Pamela Anderson said when she was asked why she did Dancing With The Stars, she said “It was on her to-do-list and now she can just check it off.”  And like Pamela, I can check off “going to the Opera” from my list. I  became nervous when I received three emails from the Opera people, the week before, letting me know what to expect. One email was all about the Opera itself, La Boheme; one was about the restaurants and bars I could visit beforehand and the last was FAQs (you may have about the Opera experience). The last email was the most valuable as they broke it down to the basics: what to wear, where to smoke, what to do with your coats etc.

 We splurged at the Opera and had bought boxed seats. I thought the bigger the box the bigger the seat. No so much. I’ve come to find out that there are now 8 seats in the box (where there used to be only 6) and the seats themselves are tiny seats where my ” behind” appeared (and was) bigger than the seat itself. The configuration is 3-2-3. We had the middle two. In front of each seat is a monitor that every seat has so you can read what is happening in the Opera as it is sung in a foreign language and needs interpreting. The monitor is on a bar that swings. Luckily for me it was the right height to rest my head on. As I sat in the too tiny seat all dressed up I noticed that everyone around me was dressed in black or silver. I wore a red sweater with tan slacks. I thought I looked very Christmasy. Then it dawned on me that the seats, carpets, wall hangings were all done in an orange/red velvet and my outfit clashed big time. I turned to the gal sitting next to me and mentioned my new discovery  and realized that I was one of a few that didn’t wear black and thus we seemed to clash. I  thought it funny, but she agreed that those few of us in red did clash. Okay so now I know what not to wear. Right before the Opera started the three chairs filled in front of us with enthusiastic tuxedo clad guys that began telling everyone past stories of their Opera experiences. Luckily we were spared more stories as the chandeliers retreated into the ceiling, the lights go down and the curtain goes up.

It was amazing how many people they could get on that stage. And there were goats, donkeys and horses. My head was bobbing up and down as it went from the monitor to the stage and back again. I needed to use the monitor as a head rest as my neck started to cramp. I then just watched the orchestra and begn to wonder if they were having a good time all dressed-up in their tuxedos. I wondered what their lives were like, how much they got paid for doing this show, what their commute was like etc. But suddenly the music stopped, the audience was clapping louder than I ever heard an audience clap, and I knew I had to pay better attention. This went on for 3 hours with four intermissions and scene changes. I realized that the Opera is not for me, but it is checked off my list.

At GAI (www.gunwel.com) we don’t care what you wear, how you look, where you smoke and won’t charge you $25.00 for a plastic glass of champagne. Our waters and sodas are free. Life is full of wonders so don’t forget to start checking them off your to-do-list. Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit as we love to compare the to-do-lists to see what you’ve done! See you soon!

Comments are closed.

