Skip to content

Yes That’s ME At The Finish Line!

December 16, 2010

You know how when you meet people and they ask you what you do in your spare time? Generally that question is asked when you know you are going to be friends with that person or you’re thinking about dating that person. I always liked that question because for most of my adult life I was a runner. A runner of Marathons, 5Ks, 10Ks and half marathons. I was a big runner, the Clydesdale’s of runners, and that resulted in total knee replacements in my mid 40s. A traumatic experience that I can not even talk about to this day (No, I would not recommend having them done at the same time, big mistake, big…that’s another blog though), lol. I’ve never ran the NYC Marathon which was one of my goals, and sadly I no longer  say I am a runner. When I have to run…I skip.SF Marathon

But I watch running on television, go to running movies (Prefontaine) and read Runner’s World, still. Surprisingly in  the January 2011 issue of Smart Money magazine is an article called “10 Things Marathon Organizers Won’t Tell You” by Sara Germano. I loved it and it is a fun read; here are the major points:

  • Running marathons isn’t just for superathletes: everyone is welcome.
  • Bigger isn’t always better: regarding the size of the marathon NYC Marathon vs the Big Sur Marathon.
  • We’re becoming a lot more fun for spectators: runners with fidgety kids in tow, finding a family friendly race is key like the Disney Marathon.
  • You can get the same finish line glory at half the distance: another way to say try smaller mile races, always the same feeling crossing the finish line.
  • We like amateurs – they help us pay for the pros: marathons allow amateurs and professional to participate together.
  • Running is great exercise – if you’re careful: stating the potential risks.
  • You will pay through the nose for gear: true, I had a blanket made out of all my old shirts.
  • Can’t get into to our favorite race? Run for charity: just makes the roads more crowded.
  • We track your every move: even with a chip or tag, use your watch for your time.
  • We sure do make a mess: I can’t slow down enough to find a garbage to dump the empty water bottles .

I encourage you to run a race as no matter where you finish there is cake at the end (yes that’s me eating my SF Marathon cake). At GAI (www.gunwel.com) we are here to help you through the financial race in your life. Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. See you soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

