Skip to content

The Race Against The Cane!

December 17, 2010

My commute to work yesterday morning began on a cold and icy platform at the Yonkers train station. As happens every day, this is when my heart starts to pump a little faster and my preparation for dealing with everyone in Grand Central Terminal begins.  I got on the 7:39 local, which means I can usually guarantee finding a seat for myself.  After leaving the Harlem station I know I have ten minutes until its time to meet the masses.

We pulled into track number 41, the doors opened and we gushed out of the train like a bursting water balloon. But then I saw it, something every commuter dreads: the old lady with a cane! Nothing against old ladies with a cane, but this is a mad rush that no one wants stopped. Once I caught up to her, I noticed she wasn’t moving very fast, but she was moving.

Once off the track, I stopped at Starbucks for a cup of coffee for my walk down Park Avenue to the office. I gingerly cross 42nd Street, hung a right on Park and can’t believe who’s next to me. Yes, it is the old lady with the cane and she was moving! I mean, I literally had to switch my Christmas music to Dance music just to keep up with her. This lasted for 8 blocks when she finally went into an office building and I was now able to catch my breath.

This experience reminded me of what makes GAI such an exciting place to work. We may not look like the big firms with their splashy ads, high interest short term loans and suits & ties. We care about our clients and their anxiety during tax season. We take the time to get to know our clients and make every effort we can to build a long-term relationship. This year give Gunwel Associates, Inc. (www.gunwel.com) the opportunity to assist you with all of your Tax and Bookkeeping needs. For the next few weeks we are offering discounts on all services we provide including a free year-end tax reviews. Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

