Skip to content

My Last Rant On Tipping For The Holidays, I Promise!

December 21, 2010

If you recall I wrote a blog  called Tipping The Doorman back in November and after reading several articles since then on the subject (including todays article in the USA Today Newspaper called “Thinking of Skipping Tipping?”) I wanted to give you an update on what we did re the tipping dilemma. I live in a 42 story building in the Midtown area of NYC. The building sent us an email re options for tipping at the holiday. They gave two options. The first was send them one check and they would divide it up among all the doorman and porters. The other option was to give the doorman and porters checks/cash individually. There is one really cool doorman named Alex that I can comfortably talk about these sensitive issues and so I asked him outright. Apparently the one check idea gets pooled, taxes taken out and is given in their check prior to Christmas, not the doorman and porters favorite way to go. BTW, there are 14 names on the list of doorman and porters. That was scary for me since I only see or know about 6…who are these other people ? I’m up at all hours since I walk Cosmo (the famous tax dog) and not sure who the other 8 folks are… We decided to give cash to each one and write a nice note in their Christmas card. My goal (for next year) is to find out who the other 8 guys are… before next Christmas.

As I read the last of the several articles printed on the subject I find the answer of the question “Thinking of skipping tipping?” to be NO, year-end tipping (gifts) often have large emotional and financial meaning to service providers. Even the smallest gestures can make those on the receiving end feel appreciated. Here are some reasons why people will tip.

  • The girl who cuts my lawn is literally saving me from a stroke or heart attack.
  • The newspaper carrier NEVER misses a delivery, which I find astounding.
  • If you work at home, it could be the UPS guy who makes sure your package is in a safe place if you’re not there.
  • The door in my building is so heavy that I’d never get it open if the doorman was not there.

 I’m happy about our decision to tip the way we did. I think it is even more important to tell someone how much you appreciated their services throughout the course of the year. At GAI (http://www.gunwel.com/) we always learn from our clients and we hope they learn from us as well. We look forward to working with you on all of your financial needs this coming year. Call us today at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. See you soon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 6:53 pm

    Like the pic of you at your 2nd job. Now it makes sense why you leave early.

Leave a Reply

