Skip to content

Love Is In The Air?

December 27, 2010

Four couples I know became engaged last week. I’m not sure if it is the holidays that cought cupid’s attention or the great sales at the jewelry stores around the country. I was married when I was 21 and divorced when I was 27. Although my circumstance may be different from others I always find it amazing that young people under 30 (yes that’s the age that I drop the young) get engaged and marry. I used to have a buddy named Red (we called him Red because he was the only red-head non-italian in our group of buddies) that said things like, “I’m not getting married until my stereo is paid off.” In those days a stereo was the price of a  today’s car.  Red would also say “the only reason to get married is to give them kids my last name.” If I recall he never did get married or pay off his stereo. I’ve always said as a tax standpoint there are more creative things to do as a single person (tax wise) than a married couple. Each of the four couples that I mentioned all waited for the ring. It took me 2 years to pay off that ring I bought my then-wife, and apparently when she hocked it she got $22.00.  Luckily Burger King was next door to the pawn shop she visited so she was able to get a good meal out of the ring.

Match.com has a blog (like I’ve always said you never know where the good ideas are going to come from) called “5 secrets to making him love you.” I like the five.

  1. Share an activity (other than in the bedroom)
  2. Cheer him on (certainly in the bedroom)
  3. Let him be himself (in and out of the bedroom)
  4.  Tell him what you think (only if it is good)
  5. Give him his space (huh?)

I like the opening question: “Know a women who always seems to be in perfect sync with the guy she is dating – they laugh at each other’s jokes, are considerate of one another’s feelings, and are devotedly in love (and best friends to boot)? Well, the reason this gal is so lucky in love is pretty simple: It’s because she treats her guy right and he can’t get enough of her company.” And treating him right is the 5 steps above. Okay, I added the red. From a tax standpoint I just want to make sure his stereo is paid off, first! At GAI (http://www.gunwel.com/) we like to have fun while we work. We are here to help you with all of your financial needs, including planning for that special day. Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. See you soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2011 2:39 pm

    Nice work. Very interesting!

  2. June 14, 2013 12:17 pm

    Great post! Thanks for information.

Leave a Reply

