Skip to content

Technology Boom of 2010.

January 2, 2011

For Christmas this year my mother gave me a Pandigital Novel Color Multimedia Ereader. I opened the box and saw a 7″ media tablet and thought, how does this thing work? I have an aversion to anything touch screen simply because I have a hard time using it. I’m a keyboard friendly kinda gal. Going through the user manual I learned that I had access to the Barnes & Noble online bookstore, built-in WiFi and could upload pictures and music. Pretty sweet. In speaking with one of my besties she too got a media tablet for Christmas. Now, as I go on my search for a new cell phone (because how can my media tablet be cooler than my phone) I realize I need to jump on this technology bandwagon.

In an article I read in USA Today, 2010 had some great highlights in the technology world. That means its the perfect time for me to upgrade and join the cool kids. Apple introduced the iPad this year, opening the gates for other media tables like my Pandigital, Samsung’s Galaxy Tab and the Nook Color by Barnes & Noble. The speed at which we access our wireless networks via cell phones and laptops has advanced from 3G to 4G. Makes you wonder how we ever lived in the days of dial-up huh? Smartphones are on Ph.D. level with the iPhone 4, Droid X and Galaxy S. Some of these phones seem so advanced it’s like something out of the Terminator, I’m scared a laser is going to come shooting out and kill me. Of course with all the added speed and gadgets comes additional price, but that hasn’t seemed to deter our tech savvy consumers. Facebook has even seen a boom this year with over half a billion users, making it the world’s leading social network. Hmm is Mark Zuckerberg single? Cha-Ching! (Please you were thinking it too!) You can even get a 3D television, but keep in mind the glasses required to view that extra dimension are probably just as expensive as the television itself.

With all that 2010 brought to us I can’t imagine what the tech world with think of for 2011. I’m pretty excited, considering my new phone will be a Smartphone not a weapon for my own personal protection. At GAI (www.gunwel.com) we would love to see your cool Smartphones and media tablets. Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit and yes we have WiFi! Don’t forget it’s that time of year when we offer year-end tax reviews (for free!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

