Skip to content

Going Out Discount Style.

January 3, 2011

It’s Sunday morning and after looking into my wallet I realize I’m broke. I’ve got about three bucks crumpled up in a ball and some change flying around. If you’re a New Yorker you recognize this scenario all too well, it’s the how the heck did I spend all my money morning. Nights out on the town are costly in this city. An average night can easily run you a few hundred dollars and that’s on the low-end. I used to think the only way to go out and not deplete my savings was when I went to Pennsylvania, where 20 bucks got me 4 beers and 3 shots (including tip) and I got change back. In an article I read in The New York Times I learned that the city can take me a lot farther than I thought. It’s all about getting the deals and New York City is filled with them.

Do you want to go to a museum, catch a broadway show, have dinner and drinks or just do it all? Well with my tips on where to get the bargains you won’t need to take out a personal loan to do so. Step one, check nytimes.com/theatre and playbill.com for special offers. Playbill.com offers information on how to get rush/lottery tickets for all the popular shows. Rush tickets, which usually start around 20 bucks, are sold lottery style and all you need to do is wake up a little earlier than normal and wait in line for the lottery to begin. Each theatre has their own hours of rush operation so check online. I was able to get orchestra seating for Avenue Q for only 20 dollars. Pretty sweet if I do say so myself. Many museums have a pay-what-you-wish policy, meaning you aren’t obliged to pay the suggested admission. Take advantage of student discounts (especially if you still have your college ID..shhhh) and look online for discounted offers.

When your done indulging in the arts, it’s time to indulge in some great eats and drinks. Almost every bar, restaurant and dive spot has a happy hour or late night special. Websites like drinkdeal.com, nymag.com, happyhourdealsnyc.com and manhattanhookup.com have hundreds of places to get the most bang for your buck. You can search based on neighborhood, type of cuisine and cost. Many of these sites have user reviews, which I highly recommend reading because nothing is worse than walking into a place thinking you’re getting a great deal on a burger and its 1 inch by 1 inch dry piece of mystery meat. Yum. Many places have prix-fixe menu’s too, which is great if you want the full course meal on an entrée only budget. Bottom line, do your research before heading out. A few minutes of online time, when you’re not tending to your farm or advancing in  mafia wars, can help keep more money into your wallet.

At GAI (www.gunwel.com) we would love to hear of any great places you know of with a not to be missed deal.  Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. We would love to help you take advantage of all the discounts this great city has to offer! For maximum savings, let up help you with all your Tax & Bookkeeping needs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

