Skip to content

What If You Woke Up Tomorrow…

January 6, 2011

Someone once said to me “What would it be like if you woke up tomorrow morning having forgiven yourself ?” I didn’t need to ask  forgiven myself for what? simply because I know we  go through life with regrets and unresolved issues that we hold  inside. I also know, that by not forgiving ourselves we can’t move forward and thus we are truly not happy (or at least happy as we could be). I have fantasized on many occasion what would it be like to wake up and not have all that baggage in the back of your mind.

  • Would I feel lighter ?
  • Would I smile more ?
  • Would my shoulders be less slouchy ?
  • Would I be nicer to my partner and family ?
  • Would my employees see a difference ?
  • Would my memory of the past fade ?
  • Or would the memory just be that, a memory without effect?

Roseanne was recently asked: Does the anthem incident when you messed up the singing of the national anthem, still rank up there as one of the worst experiences of your life? Her response: It was hard to get over it. It felt real bad, you know. The aftermath was hard. But after you look back, without it maybe I wouldn’t have changed my life for the better.

I was recently made aware that the tax firm I used to own (20 years) in San Francisco (I sold it and then move to NYC and began Gunwel)   was having a renaming party (as the folks that bought the firm were combining their firms in California, thus opting for their original name). I was put off for two reasons: first) I was told that they would never change the name, thus the legacy (and brand) would be intact, second) they lied to me (not the first time as the business deal had many sour notes). Perhaps it is all about ego. Eckhart Tolle says “Obstacles come all the time. If you get upset that means the ego is back.” At what point do we have experiences and just let them be experiences without having to analyze them. If the experience is good or bad we are able to learn from it and let it go. Maybe that is the price of being human?

Okay so I’ve gotten way too hebejebe with you. I just really like the question: What would it be like if you woke up tomorrow morning having forgiven yourself ? At GAI (http://www.gunwel.com/) we have no judgement on whatever condition your finances are in. We are here to listen, help and add to your financial happiness. Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. See you soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

