Skip to content

May The Force of Nature Be With You.

January 18, 2011

This morning as I waited for my bus in the freezing rain I looked around and thought to myself, enough with the snow,rain and ice already! I’m so over it, it’s like Mother Nature took a crazy pill because so far this winter stinks. I wondered how far my $5.50 bus fare could take me, preferably someplace warm and sunny please. While trying to dry off and get through my morning grumpiness (which is totally a direct result of the weather) I sat on the bus and became convinced the world is coming to an end. 2012 is right around the corner people. Birds falling from the sky, new astrological signs (oh I’ll get to that in shortly) and unpredictable weather are clearly signs of impending doom. By the time my bus got into the city I was already preparing a make shift will. That was until my dear and very wise friend Ean educated me on something called the Chandler Wobble. Ean reassured me that the planet isn’t dying but in fact just following a normal progression.

The Chandler Wobble is defined as a change in the spin of the earth on its axis. This change directly affects the celestial navigation hence the new astrological signs, which only applies to those born in 2009 and on. Good thing because there is no way this Aries will become a Pisces without causing a ruckus (such an Aries thing to say). The Chandler Wobble, discovered in the 1800’s, has always been on our top scientists and NASA’s radar. Our weather is determined by how the earth tilts relative to its plane of travel to the sun. Well the wobble changes the tilt of the earth in relation to the sun, making extreme changes in our seasonal weather. Increased tilt means warmer summers and colder winters, and decreased tilt means cooler summers and milder winters. Clearly the earth is not working on a decreased tilt right now. With all the changes in our earths magnetic activity within the past few years, NASA and Geophysicists believe we are on our way to another little ice age (which refers to the prolonged period of cold weather that afflicted the world for centuries and didn’t end until just prior to the American Civil War). Jeez, and I thought the last month was unbearable. If I start seeing icebergs and oceans freezing over I’m moving. Although if the northern Atlantic Ocean froze that sure would save money on tolls not to mention an awesome space for hockey.

Now this isn’t going to happen overnight but if it does hurry up and get your taxes done with us at GAI (www.gunwel.com) before an iceberg forms right in NYC!!! I don’t think the IRS recognizes acts of nature as a qualifying reason for an extension. Stop by and warm up or give us a call at 212-979-6830 to share your thoughts on this freezing forecast.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. EAN permalink
    January 18, 2011 7:23 pm

    I made it into a blog…..COPIED…FILED UNDER AWESOME and much thanks!

    Chandler wobble makes it all seem…….well…normal..right??

  2. January 18, 2011 8:01 pm

    Great article Natalie! For clarification though, is this the same Chandler as the one on Friends?

    • January 18, 2011 8:53 pm

      Yes, I believe some of the writers on Friends were science aficionados.

Leave a Reply

