Skip to content

Are You Living With Microscopic Monsters?

January 19, 2011

As a general rule of good housekeeping I believe the two most important rooms to keep clean are the bathroom and kitchen. Everything else is forgivable, unless you are OCD clean. Don’t get me wrong I clean just about everyday, I hate a dirty house, but I’m not scrubbing tiles with a toothbrush either. I assume, like most people, that wiping down my counters with antibacterial spray should be suffice. I rest easy thinking my kitchen is all clean and little do I know there are tons of pesky pathogens sharing my apartment. According to an article I read in O, the Oprah magazine, boy was I wrong. Apparently I’m festering a breeding ground for bacteria. Eww gross. The cleanliness of a kitchen is dependant on various factors like food, refrigerator temperature and exposed sponges.

 Most people rinse their meats before cooking, well you just spread germs all over your sink and countertop. Simply cooking the raw meat will thoroughly eliminate all pathogens. Refrigerators should be kept between 32 and 40 degrees to maintain the healthiness of your food. Any warmer and your food’s bacteria levels can multiply to dangerous levels within hours. Even my sink sponge, which I keep stored so cutely in a ceramic frogs mouth, is germ central. I guess my generous spraying of Lysol isn’t enough. The best way is to zap out the germs is by placing it in the microwave for one minute or running it through the dishwasher. Oh my gosh can you imagine using a germ infested sponge to clean your dishes? Did anyone else just get a case of the shivers? I’m going to buy a hazmat suit and some hospital quality cleaners and get to work.

I’ve learned that the microwave is our best friend, as long as its clean. I’ve always had a very strong relationship with my microwave, without it I couldn’t nourish myself for all these years. Clearly when you use your stove as storage any meal that can be prepared with a BEEP is the way to go. Not only does your microwave heat up food and zap germs, it’s the best way to defrost meat. When I need to defrost something I usually throw it on my counter, wait a few hours, and wa-la thawed. What I didn’t realize is that I have also invited a whole group of nasty pathogens to party all over my countertop. If you’re thawing meat for a meal to be cooked later, place it in the refrigerator. Most importantly, a less germy house means a healthier you.

With all the nasty germs we are exposed to on a daily basis, especially from commuting in New York City, the least we can do is make sure our home is a sanitary one. At GAI (www.gunwel.com) we fully support the cause for a germ free environment. We keep our office clean and cozy everyday. Make sure to take some free hand sanitizer’s when you come in to do your taxes! Stop by or give us a call at 212-979-6830. See you soon!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

