Skip to content

Ways To Reduce The Pain

January 19, 2011

It has been so cold in New York City that my knees have been screaming for a trip to Florida. I’ve mentioned before that a few years back I was lucky enough to have total knee replacements on both knees. Woo Hoo! I feel great and am pain-free, even though the doorman asked me the other day what is wrong with my leg. I said my leg ? trying to act cool, and he said yes your limping. I hadn’t notice, as all I’m concerned about is being pain-free (and didn’t notice the limp). I went on to explain the knee replacements and the cold weather affects them etc. AND I was hoping for a “you’re so young to have that done” but I got none of that…what’s wrong with New Yorker’s and their lack of flattery??? Anyway, back to the purpose of this blog.  If you have arthritis, you’ve probably tried painkillers and heating pads. You may have even tried drugs like Celebrex (I did and no luck) or supplements like glucosamine. But there are 5 little-know remedies that you probably haven’t tried. They are safe…they’re inexpensive…and they can dramatically curb your symptoms.

  1. Drink Tea. Yes, tea. Research shows that green tea is rich in polyphenols – compounds that suppress the expression of a key gene involved in arthritis inflammation.
  2. Boost Your C and D. Vitamin C is believed to slow the loss of cartilage due to osteoarthritis, while a diet low in vitamin D has been shown to actually speed the progression of osteoarthritis.
  3. Try Willow Bark/Boswllia. Willow bark is where aspirin comes from. And boswellia has been used for centuries to reduce inflammation and maintain healthy joints.
  4. Eat Grapes. Grape skin contain resveratrol, a natural compound known to act as a COX-2 inhibitor. Resveratrol both suppresses the COX-2 gene and deactivates the COX-2 enzyme, which produces inflammation at the site of injury or pain.
  5. Therapeutic Taping. Wrapping tape around a joint to realign, support, and take pressure off it has great benefits for arthritis sufferers.

Give these five remedies a try to see if they help. There is a sixth that I failed to mention…Come on in for tax talk as that will keep your mind off your aches and pains. Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. At GAI (gunwel.com) we are here for you to help you with all of your financial needs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

