Skip to content

Are You Asking The Right Questions?

January 22, 2011

I am a self admitted over thinker. As new events occur in my life, I scrutinize almost every moment of it. I ask myself things like, What does that really mean? Will this change be good for me? Do I even need the change at all? For some reason with all my thinking and over thinking I don’t always get it right. According to an article I read in O, the Oprah magazine, that’s because I’m not asking myself the right questions. The article listed the top 20 questions we should be asking ourselves.Some questions really stood out and I thought, wow that’s very smart. In an effort to share some insight, I’ve listed my top three favorite “who am I” questions.

  • Is this what I want to be doing? Many of us do things because it’s the right thing to do or what must be done. Well forget that for a moment. Notice the question does not ask,what I should be doing or have to do. Sometimes it’s healthy to just do what makes you happy. There is nothing wrong with being a little selfish every now and then(as long as it doesn’t directly interfere with your responsibilities). At the end of the day, you’re the one living your life so shouldn’t it be a life you want? Don’t be afraid to say no and take some you time.
  • Where should I break the rules? Face it, we all break the rules. Yes, bending them counts too! If no one ever broke the rules we would still be living in a world with slavery, child labor and public hangings. What makes us human is our ability to make decisions from the heart. Sometimes what society makes a standard rule doesn’t fit in with the rules that you live by. Breaking the outside rules to maintain the ones within yourself are always acceptable.
  • What’s so funny?  My favorite line is when someone says, What is this a joke to you? Well sometimes it should be. Finding the humor in any situation helps reduce the stress (and anything to reduce stress can only be beneficial). There are plenty of serious moments in life so don’t make the light ones heavy. While looking on the bright side may not always be easy, the least you can do is laugh in the dark.

At GAI (www.gunwel.com) we would love to hear what other important life questions you live by. Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by and visit! Remember, in addition to laughter we also offer stress reduction by handling your taxes!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

