Skip to content

Do You Decide By How Much You Save

February 5, 2011

I’ve been in some form of sales and marketing position my entire life. Whether I was selling burgers and beer during college or library automation systems later in life, I was always amazed at how others sell. During college I worked for a manager who could get someone coming in for just a burger and a beer to go all the way and get a 6 bottle bucket of beers, large order of fries, Nacho’s as an appetizer and usually got them to buy a chocolate chip cookie on the way out the door. It totally fascinated me that while someone was planning on spending $8, he got them to spend $30; all by telling them how much their saving per item.

Uncle Sam

Later in life I found myself selling multi-million dollar library automation systems to entire states and I never forgot his strategy. Never mention the per item price, but always talk about the savings. I remember one particular state that in order to even speak to the state librarian, I had to get the individual counties to get on-board. I spent an entire month in this state going to every library that received state funding and never gave a single price on anything, only the percentage the state would save if they got on board. Well, on the exact day I met with the last library I received a call from the State librarian and eventually received the state-wide contract to manage their library systems.

Now in order to talk savings, I had to know everything about the library I would be talking to, every possible product that pertained to them and how EXACTLY I could save their state within a multifaceted contract before the contract was even written. This took an incredible amount of studying and preparation which is exactly what we do at Gunwel Tax & Bookkeeping. We don’t just look at your W2 and/or 1099 and plug those numbers into a tax program that spits out a number without asking you any questions. We spend time getting to know you, what type of work you do and when possible, we will explain to you how to save money on your tax return. We don’t do this for just the current filing year, but we also explain to you how you can save money in the future as well.

The filling deadline is fast approaching and we encourage you to set up an appointment with GAI soon. We want you to save as much as you possibly can on your 2010 return and just as importantly on your future tax returns. So give us a call at 212-979-6830 to make an appointment for a free tax preparation consultation and in the meantime feel free to send us any questions you may have at info@gunwel.com or visit our website, www.gunwel.com, for some great tax saving ideas. We look forward to working with you soon and of course you’re always welcome to stop into our offices at 44 east 21st street for a chat, cup of coffee or piece of fabulous candy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

