Skip to content

Forgive me Father, For I Have iPhoned.

February 8, 2011

There are so many smart phone apps that I can barely keep track and with new ones emerging everyday nothing surprises me. Or so I thought. I recently read an article about a new iPhone app called Confession: A Roman Catholic App. This new app, considered to be the first approved by the church, is intended to help the wandering Catholics walk their way through the act of contrition. This app was created with the help of Reverend Thomas Weinandy and Reverend Dan Scheidt  and has been approved by Pope Benedict XVI  himself. The app, according to Apple, gives you a step by step process “inviting Catholics to prayerfully prepare for and participate in the Rite of Penance”. Your personalized conscience audit is broken down by sex, age and vocation. You then chose from a list of predetermined sins, with of course, the option to add your own dirty deeds. The app will even keep track of your last confession down to the minute.

While the idea itself helps in keeping up with the digital times, the notion of turning on my cell phone in church, let alone during a holy sacrament would send my grandmother into shock. It seems to go against everything I was taught growing up. I feel like the moment I take out my phone my old principal, Sister Marie Claire, will jump out and smack it out of my hand and banish me to detention. Is it appropriate to  ask my priest what the WiFi password is so I can access my confession app? Talk about awkward. I think some things are just better the old-fashioned way. Could you imagine the horror if my phone suddenly rang and Sir Mix-A-Lot’s Baby Got Back  filled the chapel walls. That’s a risk I’m not willing to take. I think I will stick to the old school paper and pen routine for mapping out my sins. For those of you brave enough to utilize the app, remember you still must go to a priest for absolution. So keep those ringers off and don’t start checking Facebook updates while waiting in the pews.

Here at GAI (www.gunwel.com) you won’t need an app to help you handle the IRS. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will serve as your personal tax-prep application. We take the scary out of taxes. So give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by, walk-ins are always welcome. We are open Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturdays 8am-5pm.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 3:59 pm

    Very funny! You made me smile today.

  2. February 8, 2011 6:22 pm

    Another great article! This reminds me of the “note to God” application that I downloaded recently. Same principal I think, but at least it doesn’t have me using it in church. That would scare me, my luck my phone would ring and I would be horrified!

    Have a super day!

    Michael
    OutMaturity

  3. February 8, 2011 8:03 pm

    Thank You Michael!

Leave a Reply

