Skip to content

The Skinny On The New Diet Pepsi Can.

February 12, 2011

In honor of New York Fashion Week and “in celebration of beautiful, confident women”, PepsiCo Chief Marketing Officer, Jill Beraud, is thrilled to launch the newest addition to the Diet Pepsi family, the taller and more glamorous, Diet Pepsi Skinny Can. The new skinny can is  marketed directly towards women, specifically the fashionista model types. I guess the rest of the female population will just stick to the old short fat cans. Jill Beraud stated that this new “attractive can is the perfect complement to today’s most stylish looks”.  I know when I think of accessorizing I instantly go to skinny aluminum cans, don’t you? Right now the sleek skinny can will only be seen at the über fabulous runway shows held at Lincoln Center. The can will become available nationwide beginning March.

While I am a fan of diet Pepsi, I’m not a fan of its current marketing techniques. Beautiful confident women come in all sizes, not just skinny and tall. You shouldn’t have to be a fashionista to drink your soda pop either, I personally prefer my carbonated beverages while laying on my couch in my snuggie. It’s the perfect complement to my Frito-Lay chips, which Pepsi owns. Hmm interesting. Have you ever heard the saying, She’s got a Coke bottle body? Those bottles have some curve to it, so it makes sense. I think I’d bet some money I won’t be hearing the guys in my area saying, Wow look at that flat tin body. Two big thumbs down Pepsi, your great idea is overshadowed by a horrible marketing plan. Welcome back Coke, you are now the only soda pop I will allow into my refrigerator.

Here at GAI (www.gunwel.com) we would love to hear your thoughts on this marketing madness. Where do you stand on the Pepsi vs. Coke debate? Our office is a judge free zone so Pepsi and Coke drinkers alike are always welcome!! Just think how relaxing it would be to have your favorite soda while sitting back knowing the professional and knowledgeable staff is handling all your tax needs. So stop by or give us a call at 212-979-6830. We are open Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturdays 8am-5pm, walk-ins welcome!!

Leave a Reply

