Skip to content

Fun Ways To Burn 100 Calories.

February 19, 2011

We all know that working out generally isn’t fun. Sweating on a treadmill and sporting a tomato face doesn’t exactly sound like a blast to me. Unfortunately since I’m not one of those girls who can eat anything and still stay the same pants size, working out is a must. However, just getting into my spandex work out clothes is an aerobic class in itself. I was delighted when I read an article in Women’s Health about new ways to burn 100 calories without even stepping into a gym. Some of these don’t even require you to leave the house! Here a list of my favorite ten calorie burning tips.

  1. Slather on lip balm 765 times. If you know me, then you are aware of my obsession with lip gloss and balm. I constantly apply and reapply. I’m burning calories and didn’t even know it. Score!
  2. Relive the 1980’s: Lip-synch George Michael’s “Faith” 16 times. Been there done that!
  3. Wiggle while you watch tv for 40 minutes.  Fidgeters burn up to 350 more calories a day than couch potatoes. 
  4. Carry a cooler stocked with three bottles of water, a six-pack, four PB&Js, two oranges, a bag of tortilla chips and 12 servings of salsa for 22 minutes. That’s a day at the beach, literally. The walk from the parking lot to the perfect spot at Jones Beach takes much more than 22 minutes. I’ve got to burn at least 200 calories with that one.
  5. Let a Great Dane walk you for 13 minutes . Not only are you burning calories but there’s a sense of excitement. Will I fall, will I crash to the floor? Ooo the danger.
  6. Alternate between a cat pose, cow pose and downward dog 13 times, holding each for 30 seconds. If you’ve ever had to put on jeans right out the dryer this is should be a no brainer for you.
  7. Push a grocery cart for 45 minutes. Go on days like the evening before Thanksgiving, Superbowl Sunday or Christmas Eve. The weaving in and out of aisles, racing to get the last bag of chips (baked of course)  is sure to get your metabolism boosted.
  8. Sing the “Grease” original soundtrack from start to finish.  It’s like the staff at Women’s Health has been spying on me because who told them I rock out to Grease on a weekly basis. Amazing.
  9. Carry 5 grocery bags from the car to the kitchen, put the food away, take out the trash, wash the dishes and wipe down the kitchen counter. Burning calories while cleaning, its like double the reward.
  10. Lift and lower a soy sauce bottle 170 times with your right hand and a wok 170 times with your left hand. This is just hilarious, and I’m totally getting a wok.

Have any other creative and fun calorie burning ideas? Here at GAI (www.gunwel.com) we would love to hear them! I bet you will burn a lot more than 100 calories  by walking to our office to file your taxes! So stop by or give us a call at 212-979-6830. Hope to see you soon!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

