Skip to content

Is Your Newspaper Dumbing You Down?

February 23, 2011

As I sift through my morning paper I checked the life section in USA Today and on the front page the cover story reads, Palliative care focuses on life. This article is smack dab in between two other front page worthy articles, Black Swan’s chances at the Oscars and Justin Bieber’s new haircut. Did I mention the cover story is only about a paragraph long on the front page, you have to turn the page for the whole story, but why would you when Justin Bieber’s haircut makes front page news. Just yesterday, while watching the morning news, the anchor said, “Coming up the devastating earthquake in New Zealand, but up first Justin Bieber’s new do”. Seriously, what has the world come to when the hair styling of a 16-year-old is more important than natural disasters and advancements in medical science? Has media just dumbed us down to the point where these meaningless stories actually interest us or could it be that we just don’t care anymore? I’m sorry but I don’t care about Bieber fever or if Lindsay Lohan is back in rehab, but I do care about international affairs like the turmoil in Libya, which is directly impacting our gas prices. I remember a time where the newspaper was for reading relevant national and international news with a hint of entertainment gossip here and there. If I wanted the scoop on a celebrity I knew which magazine to buy or which show to watch but now it seems if I want real news CNN is my only hope.

As New Yorkers and as Americans it’s important to keep ourselves in the loop about current events outside of Hollywood. I can’t tell you how refreshing it is to have an intellectual conversation with someone about anything other than American Idol. Men, pay attention, it’s also quite the turn on. Women have a great appreciation for a smart man. I can understand the desire for mindless entertainment but with over 90% of our major networks producing shows for just that purpose, is it wrong to have at least have a few accessible outlets with relevant content. So get it together newspapers and news shows. Tell me something important, educate me. After all, a mind is a terrible thing to waste!

Here at GAI (www.gunwel.com) we would love to hear your thoughts on this media madness. Not sure where to get reliable information? Try reading our blogs, we put out the most current information regarding taxes, finances, world news and even some entertainment media. Want more information on how we can help you get the most out of your 2010 tax return? Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. We are open Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturdays 8am-5pm.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ean permalink
    February 23, 2011 10:47 pm

    Your brain is so hot!!!!!!

  2. February 25, 2011 5:09 pm

    LOVED this post! I nearly scream these same thoughts out loud every time I pick up the newspaper or turn on the TV!

    Keep up the excellent work!

    Regards,

    Michael Thacker
    CCO OutMaturity

    • Anonymous permalink
      February 25, 2011 5:31 pm

      THANK YOU!!! It’s so frustrating when nonsense makes the top headlines. Hopefully I can help bring some fun and educational information through my blogs!!

Leave a Reply

