Skip to content

The Digital Traveler.

March 1, 2011

I love going on vacation and exploring new cities but I hate having to take out my tourist guide-book, looking lost standing in the middle of the street squinting my eyes in a horrible attempt to somehow realize where I am and where I want to be. Most of the time I just wing it and pray my destination magically appears. I was super excited when I read an article in USA Today about destination apps straight from my smart phone. Now no one will know how lost I really am, I’ll just be like everyone else playing with their phone. Some destination apps even offer extra perks that aren’t available in book format, such as nearby points of interest determined by the GPS and mapping software including user-generated reviews and pictures. The best part about the downloadable apps is that it some don’t require an active internet connection, which is great if your vacation spot isn’t WiFi friendly. Companies like Lonely Planet, Fodor’s, Frommer’s and Not For Tourists have all jumped on the smart phone app bandwagon.

Now that you have traded in your clunky travel books to become a digital traveler there is one thing to keep in mind. Battery life. Many smart phones, when using both GPS and internet software, shut down within hours. If you are planning an all day excursion, using a smart phone app may not be the best choice. These apps can even be used in your own hometown. Not For Tourists allows community searches where you can find things like community gardens, bowling, flea markets and farmers markets. It also has detailed restaurant reviews about places even the most seasoned locals didn’t know about. With choices like 50 places and things to do, WiFi hot spots, hotels and nearest restrooms, downloadable apps may keep conventional tourist books on the shelf.

Here at GAI (www.gunwel.com) we would love to know about your vacation plans and the destination apps of your choice. Love using your smart phone and all the available apps? Well here’s one you shouldn’t use, the taxes app! Let the professional and knowledgeable staff at Gunwel handle that for you. We can get the most out of your return this tax season. So give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by. We are open Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturday 8am-5pm.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 3:59 pm

    I love it. I too have become a huge fan of travel apps. I find FourSquare and Yelp great for helping to navigate around the city too. Oh, and recently used the NYC subway app. Way better than standing on the corner with a giant map. It even has augmented reality that allows you to use your phones camera to take a picture and display the nearby subway stations. Pretty cool stuff.

    • Natalie Del Valle permalink
      March 1, 2011 4:05 pm

      Thank You!! I have become a huge fan of these apps myself. I love knowing a little about the city’s great hidden spots. Thanks for reading!!

      Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

