Skip to content

The Power Of A Pretty Face.

March 5, 2011

Have you ever noticed that most of the salespeople out there are generally attractive if not drop dead gorgeous? Think about it, the girls at the Guess store, the guys at Hollister and Abercrombie and Fitch, the sales representative for your company’s office supplies or dare I even say it, the pool boy. All of these people are selling us on a service, whether that be a new sweater or a months supply of paper clips and boy do they look good doing it. So while I swoon at the eye candy I have to stop and wonder, am I purchasing my clothes and furnishing my workplace with services based off looks? Am I being beauty bamboozled?

In my archives I found an article published back in 2006  from In Knowledge, from the W.P. Carey School of Business in Arizona State, entitled, Beauty and the Sales Commission: Looks Can Boost Performance. This article, while a tad dated, had some points that are still relative to my stunning services issues now. The article concluded that, “Attractive salespeople were perceived to be more likeable, trustworthy and adept at communication than their plainer colleagues.” When did we go from purchasing services and goods based on reputation and quality to purchasing based on looks? Better yet, what does that say about us now? Many companies, working off the trend of “sex sells” seek out to hire only attractive employees. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve been asked to send in my picture before confirming an interview. I understand that outward appearance plays an important role in our society, and I am guilty of it too, BUT, at some point our vanity and shallowness needs to be benched. While I hate to admit it, I have bought and worn certain items of clothing only because I was given praise by an attractive member of the opposite sex. Seems so silly right? Buy items because you want to, and remember, it’s their job to tell you it looks slimming or how it brings out the honey hues in your eyes. They are paid and even gain extra commission based off flirting you into a purchase.

I personally think that the look factor plays an important role in tangible services and goods but is not a factor when it comes to personal and business finances. I don’t care how hot that accountant is at the new office down the block, I want credentials. I mean this is my money and savings we are talking about here. Finances are a very personal and even intimate matter so it doesn’t make sense to base your monetary choices off a skirt and a smile. People tend to go with someone who in fact is the opposite of attractive when it comes to their money. A disheveled, overworked pencil pusher will more likely get the job than a plunging v-neck in stilettos. People are programmed to assume that those who work with numbers don’t have time to sell their outward appearance. That’s right and wrong. Speaking as a member of the number crunching society, I do not use my stunning good looks to get clients, I use credentials. The proof is in the pudding and my work speaks for itself however I still manage to comb my hair and put on mascara everyday. Take a look at the people you get your goods and services from and ask yourself, are you guilty of purchasing pretty?

Here at GAI (gunwel.com) we would love to hear your thoughts. Rest assured we are more than pretty faces, we have the knowledge and experience necessary to successfully handle all your all your tax and bookkeeping needs. So give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop in for a visit. We are open Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturdays 8am-5pm.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

