Skip to content

Is Grilled Cheese Going Gourmet?

March 11, 2011

There are certain meals that just scream comfort food and instantly remind me of being a child. For me those meals consist of mac and cheese, Kraft blue box only, and grilled cheese sandwiches. Aside from having a life long love affair with cheese (borderline obsession-I really do love cheese), combining that with another carb is pure heaven. Kraft mac and cheese and grilled cheese samiches, as I call them, were really the only things I was allowed to make sans mom’s supervision. That and mayo samiches (c’mon you know what I’m talking about). So clearly I made it almost every day,thus mastering the art of fine grilled cheese cuisine. I know the proper way to butter the bread and prepare until the cheese is melted to perfection. Bring it on Anthony Bourdain. The grilled cheese is a staple in classic American foods but when people added tomatoes to it, well that’s just too fancy for my taste. I’m a traditional cheddar cheese and Wonder bread kinda gal.

I was delighted when reading USA Today and saw the headline, The grilled cheese sandwich stands alone, with a perfect picture of a delicious grilled cheese. I thought, finally something I can relate to. I was a bit saddened to read that now the grilled cheese is becoming gourmet. Really? I blame Martha Stewart for this. According to the article, Laura Werlin’s recently published book, Grilled Cheese, Please!, contains “50 sumptuously cheesy recipes” including Spicy Korean Kim Chee Grilled Cheese and Pear Infused Grilled Cheese. Seriously? Aside from not even knowing what Spicy Korean Kim Chee is, why ruin a good thing? Geez and I thought adding tomatoes was daring.

 I understand wanting to spice things up but fruit in my grilled cheese, I think not. There’s a time and a place for gourmet upscale food, and that’s usually in the city where I pay too much for a meal too small. I want to be able to enjoy the simplicity of a nice grilled cheese without the frou-frou pinkies up feel. You know that saying, if it aint broke don’t fix it? Yeah, sorry fancy food world, this one needs to be left in its original state.

At GAI (www.gunwel.com) we would love to know some of your favorite grilled cheese recipes. Do you enjoy the gourmet side of grilled cheese or are you a fan of the classic? Be sure to check out our newsletter to get monthly recipes on more comfort food classics. Stop by or give us a call at 212-979-6830. It may seem like there’s no better time for comfort food than during tax season but with the services of our knowledgeable and friendly staff you can rest easy and enjoy your grilled cheese in peace!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    March 11, 2011 12:33 pm

    As a child I, too, enjoyed the classic cheddar only version of the grilled cheese sandwich. Then one day while playing at a friend’s home, his mother invited me to stay for lunch. It was grilled cheese day, and as she was preparing our sandwiches she asked me if I wanted mayo and chopped onions in mine, as it was their favorite way of eating them. I looked at her strangely, and she said I had to try it, as it was so good to eat. I reluctantly said yes I would, and to my amazement found it to be simply delicious! It’s now my favorite version. I suggest you give it a try! Best with Miracle Whip, but regular mayo is good too. If you hate onions, then try it with the mayo only. I think you will find it very enjoyable, too!

  2. March 11, 2011 2:22 pm

    I think every day should be grilled cheese day! Once I am allowed to have bread again, after Lent, I am going to make a trip to Grilled Cheese NYC. A place somewhere in the 40s I think that serves all kinds of grilled cheese samiches! You must join, we can leave Bill to man the office!

Leave a Reply

