Skip to content

The Many Faces Of Cyber Crime.

March 15, 2011

I am sad to report that this will be my very last blog. I have recently come across an ASTONISHING financial opportunity which is guaranteed to earn me $3,000,000 dollars!! So with my new-found riches, I am packing up shop and leaving it all behind. Goodbye cruel world of work and stress and hello warm beaches of the Caribbean. How did I do it, you ask? It all started with an email I received from my good friend, Mrs.Lillian Jones. Okay, so I’ve never met Mrs.Lillian Jones of  Dubai, but her moving and lengthy email, eloquently written in broken english, really moved me. I was selected to help handle a huge cash deposit on behalf of Mrs.Lillian Jones and her attorney, Barrister Peter Stevens, and distribute it to various charities with a quarter of the millions going straight to me. All I had to do was give her my bank account, social security, home address, date of birth, mothers maiden name, entire shoe collection, my first-born and the deed to my mother’s house. Sounds safe enough right?

I don’t know what’s sadder, falling for this type of email scam or the fact that I really received this email. Did I mention the follow-up email from the Barrister Peter Stevens? Reading through these emails, filled with sayings like, “I feel quite safe and satisfy dealing with you ” and “Donate the money into to promote the life of less privilege ones” I think, are you serious? First, who writes this stuff? If you are going to try to scam me via email the use of correct grammar goes a long way. Even worse than the run on sentences, improper word conjugations and spelling errors, is that whoever this comes from thinks I’m actually dumb enough to sign my life away. The world is filled with scammers, and some are pretty good, but this one is just down right horrible. Just so you don’t think I’m overreacting or making it up, here’s a little piece:

  “Dear Friend.

   Good day and God bless you. I feel quite safe and satisfy dealing with you in his charity project.Though, this medium (Internet) has been greatly abused, I choose to    reach you through it because it still remains the fastest, surest and most secured medium of communication. However, this correspondence is purely private, and it should be treated as such. As you read this, I don’t want you to feel sorry for me, because, I believe everyone will die someday. My name is MRS.LILIAN JONES, a merchant in Dubai, in the U.A.E. I have been diagnosed with Esophageal cancer . It has defiled all forms of medical treatment, and right now I have only about a few months to live, according to medical experts.The last of my money which no one knows of is the huge cash deposit of TWELVE MILLION DOLLARS $12,000,000,that I have with a finance/Security Company abroad.I will want you to help me collect this deposit and dispatched it to charity organizations.”

Have you ever heard of the show, The World’s Dumbest Criminals? Yeah, I think the writer of this email is a new leading contender. This type of email scam is known as the Nigerian scam or the 419 scam. These scams were around before the internet, originally sent via mail or fax, and distributed mainly in the area code 419 in Nigeria, hence the name. While these types of scams may not work with the tech-savvy generation of today, there are plenty to choose from. Vacation giveaway hoaxes, phishing scams, internet dating scams and even job posting scams. All of these are available with the click of a mouse, and many, nearly one in five American adults become victim to these internet frauds. So how do we protect ourselves? First off, if it sounds too good to be true that’s because it is. Second, and most important, simply refuse to share any personal identifying information including financial data. It doesn’t take much to navigate away from potential hoaxes, but it can take a lifetime to build back your financial life after fraud.

At GAI (www.gunwel.com) we are determined to help keep your money in the safest place possible, with you! By letting our professional and knowledgeable staff handle all your tax and financial needs, you can rest assured that your money is being managed responsibly, and that’s no scam folks. So give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. We are open Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturdays 8am-5pm.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

