Skip to content

Texting Abbreviations Make It Into The Dictionary…OMG!

March 25, 2011

IMHO people give TMI about their WAG in PP. Okay, let’s be honest, do you have any idea what I’m saying?? That horrid excuse for a sentence translates to, in my humble opinion (IMHO) people give too much information (TMI) about their wives and girlfriends (WAG) in public places (PP). These texting words are just the latest additions to make it into The Oxford English Dictionary. OMG (oh my god) and LOL (laugh out loud) have also joined the ranks. According to Fox online news, these texting abbreviations “have long been used by the younger generation in text messages and online social networking sites including Facebook and Twitter.” So it only makes perfect sense to make these texting abbreviations a part of our everyday language. Not. I’m sorry but certain abbreviations I get, things like FYI (for your information) and BFF (best friends forever) but IMHO? We can’t just say that in its entirety, besides what young people are using the phrase “in my humble opinion” anyway? There are many times when my younger cousin will text me and it takes me a few minutes to just decipher the code she used to send a message. Things like OMW (on my way) and IAFM (in a few minutes) just don’t register in my brain. Does that mean I’m old? Probably but if wanting to have conversations in full sentences makes me un-hip then so be it.

I have to wonder, what will conversations sound like in the next 20 years? Am I going to have to walk around with a pocket version of the dictionary just so I can understand when someone speaks to me, in English? I sure hope not. Don’t get me wrong I’m not asking for the uptight, pinkies in the air, I wear ascots way of speaking, just not the, I didn’t pass 6th grade english, way of speaking. Perhaps just a normal medium that allows for understandable communication between all the generations. The way we communicate with our friends is not the way we communicate with our bosses or family members, hopefully, so accepting these “words” into the dictionary is plain scary. If we accept this digital slang as part of the English language, it’s almost like we are dumbing ourselves down. If todays young are tomorrows leaders, they better learn how to properly speak and write English because how embarrassing for us if America’s Pledge of Allegiance read, I pledge allegiance TTF of the USA. Improbable but highly helpful in making my point.

For kickers, I searched online to find lists of all the texting abbreviations commonly used. Not only are there a ton of abbreviations I had no clue about, some are just straight ridiculous. AWESO is short for awesome. Why not just finish the word, its two letters, we can’t be that lazy. Even worse BA is short for bad. Seriously, there is no justifying abbreviating a three-letter word. DF is short for, don’t even go there. I never would have known that especially considering there isn’t even an f in that entire phrase. As a matter of fact is AAMOF, which sounds more like a type of moth than abbreviation. DD is for due diligence and my mind instantly goes to Dunkin Donuts. My favorite though is KISS which stands for, keep it simple stupid. Here I am making dinner reservations and the whole time you think I’m just a big dummy. Who knew? Rosetta Stone should probably jump on board and release a texting language series because I don’t know how else I’ll make it.

So in discussing this at GAI (www.gunwel.com) this morning, it seems I am alone on my anti-text talk. What do you think? Or should I say WDYT? Give us  a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. Remember, with the deadline of filing your taxes right around the corner make sure to bring your tax return documents with you so we can help you get the most out of your refund!! We are open Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturdays 8am-5pm. TTYL (that’s, talk to you later!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    March 30, 2011 7:28 pm

    I wholeheartedly agree!

    SOME abbreviations that make sense – okay. But, as you say, many of them are illogical to say the least.

    And make a separate texting dictionary for use in texting. It makes sense to abbreviate in texting as the more characters used the more chance you have that your message will spill over into several messages costing the user more money…

    Add this gibberish to the Oxford dictionary invites it’s use in mainstream conversation. With full size keyboards and in speaking there should be no need for all of those abbreviations!

    People ARE already SAYING “O.M.G.” !!??

  2. Natalie Del Valle permalink
    March 30, 2011 7:55 pm

    Sadly people are really speaking in abbreviation. Communicating is going to be a lot harder!!

    Thanks for reading and great comment!!

  3. A college student permalink
    April 26, 2011 3:34 am

    Your argument was very useful for a paper I’ve written on technology and the English language. For the most part, I personally agree with your sentiments. However, there’s supreme irony in the fact that to quote your writing, I’ve needed to insert: “If todays [sic] young are tomorrows [sic] leaders, they [sic] better learn how to properly speak and write English….” I like formal standardization myself; just be careful that you’re not proving yourself a beneficiary of our apparently declining grammar education standards whilst attempting to argue in their honor.

  4. June 3, 2011 7:51 am

    This is grreat !!!<3

  5. Brooke Morales permalink
    January 2, 2012 2:04 am

    OMG new texting lingo.

    ttyl peeps

  6. April 13, 2013 10:36 am

    I like it when people come together and share opinions.
    Great blog, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

