Skip to content

What’s On Your IPod ?

March 26, 2011

This morning  I looked out the window of the Gunwel offices and I noticed that the trees have buds on them. A huge smile came to my face as I remembered how great the trees looked with leaves on them…last weekend was the first day of spring, but now I see evidence. I was so excited about the thought of the weather turning (even though it is 29 degrees today in NYC) that I put extra balloons on our sandwich board that is located on the sidewalk in front of the office. This might not seem like a big deal, but the GAI landlord is not a balloon person and hates that we advertise this way…so I’m being controversial today. LOL

We have about a month left of our tax season and I notice after all these years of doing taxes (in my 25th tax season) the one thing that makes the long hours worthwhile, is seeing a client smile at the news of no impending doom re their tax returns. When the return is done and (most times) they  are happy with the results, a smile comes over their face as if they are verbally saying “Woo-Hoo!” Don’t get me wrong  there are some clients that are not happy with the results as they owe more than expected, but just having the return completed is one more item checked off their list in our complicated and busy lives. At GAI (www.gunwel.com) we try to take that burden from you by making the “tax filing” experience as pleasant as can be. Yesterday a client came in with their 7 month old puppy they had just adopted and that experience was one of the funnest tax experiences I have recently had. The puppy was all over the office allowing us to play with him, feed him cookies and we literally laughed the rest of the afternoon, realizing what is important in life. Sure taxes are important and necessary but the way we approach them can be different…and less stressful.

So fast forward to my subway ride home last night. I have taken to listening to my IPod since no one likes to talk to strangers on the subway and the subway is not always the best place to network…I also find that the subway is a very sad place to be as most folks are on their way to or from work and just look miserable. Listening to the music gets you through the minutes you are on the subway as (I feel) the music can take you to a different place, and the sad faces don’t bother you as much (well, at least me). I’m standing there listening to one of the Glee kids sing a Lady Gaga song and this young kid taps me on the shoulder and asks “what’s on your IPod ?” It was right out of an interview in People magazine where they always ask the stars what are they listening to on their IPods.  I smiled and told him, then quickly added a bunch of other songs (you know how in the interview the stars always rattle off 3 or 4 songs):

  • Tim McGraw’s “Please Remember Me”
  •  

  • The Pussy Cat Doll’s “Don’t Cha”
  • Sara Bareilles’s “Love On The Rocks”
  • ABBA’s “Honey Honey”
  • and one of my all time favorites – wait for it – The Partridge Family’s “Point Me In The Direction Of Albuquerque”

The kid then stops me and says “you’re singing the Lady Gaga all wrong, so shut up.” Who knew I was singing…was I singing, oh God, I was singing out loud. I became one of those subway singers that pass the hat…even though I wasn’t wearing a hat. I was too caught up in my embarrassment to say anything more and luckily the kid gets off the moment the doors open. It would’ve been worse as I easily could’ve been singing Cher’s recent song from Burlesque : You Haven’t See The Last Of Me.” But I kept smiling as I walked the few blocks further to my apartment thinking of that puppy and how easily something so simple can make us feel good. And that is what we try to do for you here at Gunwel Tax & Bookkeeping Service. Give us a call at 212-979-6830 or stop by for a visit. We’d love to ask you “what’s on your IPod?” See you soon! 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 4:09 pm

    I can totally relate to both instances of happiness…first as a dog lover…there is nothing I would love more than to have my pups….all of them…at work with me…if I had a job : ) They never cease to make me smile even when they are being intolerable.

    As for the singing on the train…I suspect I could have been either person…the one listening to their music or the one being annoyed: ) As a “theatre person” in my “past life” I would have definitely been singing…so I just don’t listen to anything when I’m on the train.

    Although, if I were the other person in that scenario, I would have been far more decent in asking you to tune it down…so much so…that we would have had an opportunity to network…because we definitely would have been talking…rather than going our separate ways: )

    I love your posts…thanks.

  2. March 26, 2011 4:16 pm

    Thanks Rachel. The funny thing is I wasn’t even aware of singing, so much into the song and my head…LOL I usually bring my 12 year old choc lab Cosmo (we call him the amazing tax dog) to the office but his hips have been bothering him alot lately. When I got home last night he was all over me asking “what’s up with that puppy smell on you…”
    Cheers
    Bill

Leave a Reply

