Skip to content

I’m Done With American Idol…!

April 1, 2011

My history with American Idol has been a fun wonderful ride. Every year we would have the “American Idol Pool” in the office  (just like a football pool), where we would put in $5.00 and bet who was going home and in what order. We had office staff, vendors and clients that would enter and call in their picks each week. I think the highest the pool ever got was $200.00; pretty good for American Idol..and  for a tax office. And FYI, I never took my 10% bookie’s fee, cuz I’m that nice of guy. I was worried when Simon Cowell announced he was leaving as his “truth” was part of the entertainment. I didn’t care that Paula Abdul left as she drove me crazy with her dizzy act and was not impressed with Ellen, as she is just too nice (and I was over the neck scarves). This year I kept an open mind with these judges but have decided, “why even have judges,” as they are lousy. They love everyone and their criticisms (if any) are too general (use the stage more) (we know you can sing, just do something different). Wednesday night was the last straw, as what I saw on television and what they saw were two different things. Now before I begin my critic, let me tell you I was not drinking, did not have too much sugar and had eaten a light meal (a Spinach salad and Pea soup)… and I’m a fan of Elton John’s music

  • Scotty McCreery: sang  “Country Comfort” because he said had the word “country” and “grandma” in it. Horrible. He has a good country voice, but will NEVER be the American Idol because all he can do is country…what were they thinking? And this guy is boring. The judges thought it was great.
  • Naima Adedapo: sang  “I’m Still Standing” with a reggae beat. What was she thinking? It was horrible and she sucks as a singer. They have already started her make-over by attempting to fix her teeth. The judges love her but thought “reggae?”
  • Paul McDonald: sang  “Rocket Man.” I hate this guys voice. He has a nice look for a skinny white guy, but seriously screechy/raspy and the biggest white teeth in the show.
  • Pia Toscano: sang  “Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me.” She’s beautiful, she can sing, but boring.
  • Stefano Langone: sang “Tiny Dancer,” ugh… he’s pretty but his voice is too squeeky (yeah, that’s how I describe it) and his talking voice is even worse; plus he has his doting father in the audience.
  • Lauren Alaina: sang “Candle In The Wind” and I wanted to slit my wrists. The judges went on and on about it. Clearly I’m from another planet.
  • James Durbin: sang “Saturday’s Night All Right.” He was all over the stage and in the audience. I got dizzy. The piano caught on fire, no one went for the water hose except me.
  • Thia Megia: sang “Daniel.” This is one of my least favorite Elton John songs. She is beautiful, young and sang it to her brother. The only negative things said was that Randy thought she was playing “safe.” Get original Randy.
  • Casey Abrams: sang “Your Song” and it was sort of good, except he makes these odd faces even with his trimmed beard and new hairdo. He is not your American Idol. The judges love him. His parents want him home to play cards with them.
  • Jacob Lusk: sang “Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word.” And I’m going to say it folks, he wants to be a drag queen, or maybe he is on the weekends. But too much a DIVA. Too much teeth and a huge mouth. Judges love him, of course.
  • Haley Reinhart: sang “Benny And The Jets.” All I can say is I hate her voice and her less than graceful jump from the piano reminds me of how I struggle to get off the couch when the pizza man rings the doorbell for delivery. The judges said it was the best performance of the night. I turned off the television and said ENOUGH of American Idol.

I miss Simon saying things like “that was utterly gratuitous” or “what were you thinking?” or my favorite “I clearly made a mistake with you.” We’d love to hear your thoughts on what you like and don’t like about American Idol…are you still watching ? Come by and see us for some Idol talk and then we can focus on some tax talk and prepare your tax returns.  Call us at 212-979-6830 or just come on in as walk-ins are always welcome. GAI (www.gunwel.com) is open Monday through Friday 8am – 8pm and Saturdays 8am – 5pm. See you soon!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 12:11 pm

    Good stuff! I agree on almost all points. The show needs a “Simon” and the contestants this year while reasonably talented, are uniformly boring. Honestly, I gave up last year when the fans thought Lee Dewyze was better than Crystal Bowersox.

    — Judson

  2. April 29, 2011 12:09 am

    Great job!!

  3. August 22, 2011 11:25 am

    Very interesting post! Thanks.

  4. April 19, 2013 1:21 pm

    Good post! I really like it.

Leave a Reply

