Skip to content

The Newest And Creepiest Toys For Kids.

April 2, 2011

When I think about my favorite toys growing up my mind instantly goes to Lego, my E-Z bake oven, the Teddy Ruxpin I took from my brother and my Cabbage Patch twins. 80’s toys truly rocked. I’ve never looked back and thought, wow that toy was truly inappropriate. Not like the children now will be doing in ten or fifteen years after playing with toys like Breast Milk Baby and the Parent Doll. Remember the hoopla from the re-issued 1988 pregnant Barbie doll Midge? I can tell you my mom never brought that doll home for me. So you could imagine my shock when I read in ParentDish.com, about the new doll that teaches children to breastfeed. Yes, I said breastfeed. Breast Milk Baby allows your little girl, or boy, to “strap on a little flowered bib with falsies so a baby doll can suckle the imaginary breasts-complete with slurping and gurgling sounds.” Awkward.

Breast Milk Baby, originally from Spain, “lets young girls express their love and affection in the most natural way possible, just like Mommy!” For just $99.99 you too can send your child into years of therapy while simultaneously shattering their body image and sexual development. The only people who need to learn how to breastfeed are the ones with babies in their bellies.What’s next, Tampon Tammy or Intercourse Irene?

Now I bring you to my favorite new creepy toy, the Parent Doll. Imagine you get a new doll that has your mothers face on it complete with recordings, in her voice saying, “Did you clean your room yet?” or “I see you”. Am I the only one who just got chills? This new patent pending Parent Doll is meant to keep the bond between parent and child available at all times. According to their website, the doll comes in 3 skin color choices and 5 hair color choices as well as “8 minutes of total recording time in 4 re-recordable mailboxes.” So you can change the messages all the time. What fun! I’m sorry but if I opened a gift Christmas morning and it was a mini mom or dad, I’d ask for the receipt.

What do you think about these new toys? Cutting edge or crossing the line? Here at GAI (www.gunwel.com) we would love to hear your thoughts. Don’t forget, it’s not too late to get your taxes filed with the best refund possible! Let us help you get some extra spending money for some educational toys or just some awesome vintage ones for your little ones! So stop by or give us a call at 212-979-6830. We are open Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturdays 8am-5pm.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Allison Ford permalink
    April 3, 2011 7:20 pm

    Parent Dolls are cute and my daughter love hers. My Pasadena parenting group purchased a bunch and the kids really love them. It’s perfect for lullabies at night time and just telling them how much you love or miss them when at work.

    There’s a lot of working mothers in our group and it’s not a good feeling having to work so much and being away from our little ones…Parent Dolls make it just a little more bearable.

  2. April 8, 2011 4:26 pm

    It’s funny…I remember having 2 dolls that were “life like”….One was Baby Alive….this is a 70’s doll you could feed. It was great….nothing more, nothing less…oh wait…she did wet herself as I recall…but nothing more than that. The other doll..whose name I don’t recall just looked and weighed like an actual baby but didn’t do anything special.

    I loved Baby Alive because the food tasted sooo good….or at least that’s what she told me. I really loved the other doll…I couldn’t tell you why but I just did.

    My concern over these dolls is that rather than teaching children how much work having a baby is…it simplifies it which can prove counterintuitive.

    As for the Parent Dolls, I could understand where any parent might want this for their child but am not sure about the message that it sends. Children do need to learn to be comfortable even when their parents aren’t around. They need to learn that their parents not being around during the day is not immediate cause for stress. This doll my rob them of that opportunity.

  3. November 28, 2011 1:45 pm

    Thanks for the article. Very interesting. pay for paper there

Leave a Reply

