Skip to content

I’m Back…Remember Me?

February 5, 2012

It has been awhile, about 10 months since I’ve blogged. I left New York, after what I now call “the great sadness” (a personal loss that has changed my life beyond description), and moved to Nashville where my daughter, Chelsey, lived. I needed time to figure out what to do with my life and loss; I needed time to heal. Sadly 10 days after I arrived in Nashville, my dog Cosmo (yes the Amazing Tax Dog Cosmo) died.

Cosmo the amazing tax dog

I was overwhelmed with more grief and kept wondering, why God (and I blamed him) took him from me at a time when I needed him most. Selfish of me, I know. Cosmo was after all almost 13 years old and had more health issues than Elizabeth Taylor. We had only been in NYC almost a year and the first rest stop that we stopped at on our way to Nashville was a wooded dog haven of sticks and squirrels. Cosmo was already in heaven as he stepped out of the car and instead of the NYC asphalt it was grass. I could see a smile on his face as he grabbed a stick. I stopped blaming God for my misfortune after months of therapy, groups, grief counseling and a few months at two churches in Nashville.

Life just happens. Many, many people go through life changing events and survive. Oddly when you are in the middle of it you think you are the only one and are always amazed that the world around you continues to…continue. Again one more selfish thought, as the world should stop because of my “great sadness.” But I did survive and after burning many bridges in both NYC and San Francisco, I’ve decided to get back into the tax and bookkeeping game. After this many years (27..uh huh) tax work is in my blood. I reopened Gunwel Associates Inc. Happily I have clients all over the country as so much can be done via scanning and programs like drop box have made access to documents very easy and lets not forget to mention email, phone, fax and good old Fed Ex.

The first question I’m always asked is how do you like Nashville. Honestly it is like any other city with malls, fast food drive thru (my favorite being Sonic), nice neighborhoods, ugly neighborhoods, dog parks, and  most the folks I’ve met are very friendly. I do miss the ocean, but I figure that vacations will be more rewarding then. Right now Nashville is dreary because of the weather. All the green is gone and it looks like a scene out of “The Coal Miner’s Daughter.” – muddy, cold and barren. But one Sonic double cheeseburger takes that feeling away, temporarily…. But when the green is back the scenery is very beautiful.

As my blogs before, they will be full of current events, pop culture, my life in Tennessee and of course tax and bookkeeping stuff. And trying in subtle ways to get you to call Gunwel to use our services. It is tax time and we are ready to help with all of your tax needs. Give us a call at 615-730-9444 or visit our website at http://www.gunwel.com/ as we are here to help.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. terry permalink
    February 6, 2012 3:42 am

    Bill it is nice to see you back and am looking forward to your blogs. God bless you.

  2. Boschii permalink
    April 20, 2012 9:05 pm

    yeah, I know I am a little late on the welcome back but DAMN! I am glad you are back. I really enjoy reading and sharing your blog! To say I have been jonsing is an understatement…..Don’t do that again!

  3. Boschii permalink
    April 20, 2012 9:10 pm

    Now that I have gotten past my selfish comments (I’m sorry but i have been missing you), I am really sorry about your situation but I totally understand the loss off a beloved friend (mine was Morby, 17 yo, 1 month after losing my job) I am so sorry that you have been going through such sadness but am glad you are back.

  4. February 28, 2013 9:17 am

    Very interesting! Thanks for post.

Leave a Reply

