Skip to content

Are You A Broken Man…?

August 20, 2012

I have a secret to share (or maybe it is a confession to make)…I am a “church hopper.” Now don’t go googling it as I believe I invented that phrase  just as I did  the word “discombobulation” (25 years ago, although I get no credit for it). I usually don’t discuss politics or religion in my blogs and podcasts but something resonated with me last night that is so in line with Gunwel’s philosophy that I wanted to share. So a “church hopper” is a person that goes from church to church looking for that special place to call home (my spiritual home, outside my head and heart that is). I love music in a church. When someone shares with me that a particular church has amazing music…I go check it out. When someone shares with me that the communion bread is out of this world, I go check it out. When someone says that a pastor has the ability to move you, I go check it out. But I mostly “church hop” because I have always felt like a broken man in my relationship with God. Many times in my life I’ve felt like a disappointment as to the man I grew to be and felt God would not approve. And the choices I made in my life have not always been the smartest and I’ve felt again, that God would not approve.  So last night I went to check out a new church that I found out about at the tomato art festival in Nashville. These guys were passing out food to get you to their booth and I am one of those guys who is lured in by the food. But I’m not that guy that goes to Costco and does the samples…the hairnet gals frighten me. LOL So at the booth these guys had a great pasta treat with amazing sauce…as I’m eating away they tell me all about their church…and I know I need to check it out. And last night I did.

The sermon the pastor gave was all about your role as a member of a church. Not the favorite subject to hear about for a “church hopper” like me but I stayed with him. He began by describing how many of us feel like a broken man (or woman) because of a variety of issues in our lives and we feel until we are un broken (not broken any longer) we can not contribute or commit to, in this case, the church. He went on to say…..wait for it… as this is THE POINT…that we are all broken and will continue to be, as man, by nature is broken.

But what is a broken man to do? He is to get up in the morning and have his breakfast; he kisses his kids goodbye as they go off to school; he goes to work; he pays his bills; he eats dinner; he goes to bed, and he starts all over the next morning and does the same. We are all broken but we keep  on going.

At G.A.II meet many clients that feel broken in their finances. Perhaps they can barely make ends meet, or they don’t know how to budget their money, or they haven’t paid their taxes in years, or they are out of a job, or they are frightened beyond belief because they are starting a business and don’t know what to do. At Gunwel we understand as we have all been there. I know what it is like to worry about paying for your kid’s school supplies when August/September rolls around. I know what it is like to be short on cash one month and unfortunately use a credit card to make ends meet. I know what it is like to lose a job, and start out all over. I know what it is like to be a broken man. But I also know how we can help you become “un-broken” as that is our job at Gunwel. We can help you create and grow your business. We can help you balance your budget. We can help you file your current and past due taxes. We can help you with all your accounting needs. We can help you keep on going. Your not alone, at Gunwel you can be yourself. Give us a call at 615-730-9444 and visit our website at www.gunwel.com. We’d love to help you with any financial issue.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. e linz permalink
    August 22, 2012 8:27 pm

    Sorry, friend, you should be ashamed for trying to use religion to further your career. Maybe that is why you are a ‘ broken man’. Religion is not just about ME.

    • August 22, 2012 9:26 pm

      Thanks, friend, for you comment. I’m not trying to use religion to further my career. I blog about all my experiences so I guess you would say that I use my dogs, a restaurant I ate at, my family & friends, tax law etc to further my existing career of 26 years. The idea of all of Gunwel’s blogs is to help people become more comfortable with our tax firm which helps them be able to relax and discuss the difficult issues that finances (money) can create when they walk through our doors. Best to you.

  2. June 6, 2013 8:07 am

    It’s very interesting info! Thanks a lot for it.

Leave a Reply

