Skip to content

Should Cell Phones be Allowed In A Dog Park?

August 22, 2012

I was going to title this post “How To Learn To Love Again” but I figured that I’d lose half my readers before they read past the title. Being the “jokester” that I am I’d lure you in then hit two topics in one blog. At Gunwel Associates we are able to multi-task like this on a regular basis. As most of you know (that have been readers of Gunwel’s blogs), 10 days after I relocated to Nashville TN, Cosmo (the amazing tax dog died). It was a hard blow on top of “the great sadness” that brought me to Nashville in the first place. All my emotions had closed down and I was a walking Zombie. All I did was work and grieve…as you’ll recall the blogs and podcasts were few and far between.  I never felt I would get a dog ever again. A few months after Cosmo’s passing I woke up one morning with a sense that it was time to get another dog. I can’t explain the feeling other than it was as if Cosmo said in a dream that it was time. I felt good about it and felt it was the right thing to do. So I began my search looking at various shelters in the Nashville area. I knew that I had wanted a lab so the type of dog was easy to find and I knew that I wanted two simply because I worked so much I wanted to make sure the dogs were not lonely for companionship. A shelter called “Proverbs 12:10 Animal Rescue” had  two girl labs that were sisters and they seem perfect. I filled out the application before even going to see the dogs at a local faire where they were going to be the following Saturday. The application was more intensive than the application when you buy a house. But it felt good that they cared enough to thoroughly check out the prospective new owners. So off I go to see these girls and as I approach the area where all the dogs are (there are in cages among cages along a wall) I see this little chocolate lab sitting so calmly in a cage. I looked at the dog and my body didn’t move an inch. I asked about her and she had just been rescued after suffering a horrible life (which I won’t go into as it’s too sad). I asked to take her out of the cage and she fell into my arms. I was hooked. She was 3 years old and half the size of  Cosmo (Cosmo was 100  lbs). Her name is Tess. And after finishing up all the paperwork I brought her home. What is most amazing about Tess is that she actually is a combination of Cosmo and his sister, Ursa-Bear, that had died a year earlier than Cosmo. She has Ursa’s temperament and Cosmo’s looks. The first night she slept in a bed next to mine, the second night she was in my bed. But the most important part of our morning ritual is she wakes me up every morning at 4am (like Cosmo did) by jumping on me and giving me a huge hug. She literally lies on top of me requesting I put my arms around her and we snuggle for a few minutes until I’m awake enough to let her out and feed her. That is how I learned to open my heart again…by allowing Tess to love me each morning. Are you all crying yet?

It’s two months later and I’m feeling like Tess needs a sister. As I said earlier, my plan was to get two dogs anyway. So we went back to the shelter and began our look together. After a few visits we found Loretta. A black lab that was 1-year-old and had been born with bad hips; so bad that she had them both replaced at 6 months of age. Her foster mom was amazing but needed to give her up. Loretta is a tall girl and very gangly. I think of her as an awkward Rockett. She is the same weight as Tess but much taller. She crawled into my lap the minute they let her out of her cage…and I was hooked. Luckily when Tess and her met they hit it off right away as they ran around the parking lot of the shelter. I  completed the paperwork and brought her home. My bed is only a queen size so I was worried about how this would work…but amazingly they take turns (one in the bed and one on the floor). And the love just continues.

Every morning I take the girls to a big dog park here in Nashville. It is the biggest most beautiful dog park I had ever seen. They run and carry on with the other dogs before we begin our work day. The thing that I think is very odd is that people will be in the dog park talking on their cell phone as their dogs take a crap and they ignore it. They will be talking on their cell phone as their dog is fussing with another dog, and they ignore it. So the other day I am there and this huge dog (like Hooch from the Tom Hanks movie Turner & Hooch) (with balls) comes running after Loretta and starts to hump her. Because Loretta’s hips are so bad any pressure to her back side is painful. She freaked out and this dog kept coming after her. I jump into the mix and continue to pull this dog off her yelling to the group of cell phone users  whose dog is this and come help out. They ignored me. I had a Sally Field (get my daughter her drugs) moment as I preached to them to put their cell phones away and tend to their dogs. Yes they all ignored me and I believe I now have the crazy man reputation at the dog park. The girls don’t care, they still love me. LOL

I do believe cell phones should be banned from the dog park…just like when you come to Gunwel for your appointments, or if I come to you (as G.A.I. is mobile)… I turn off my cell phone. These are the kind of stories we like to share and here at Gunwel Associates. yes we are a tax & bookkeeping firm…but we care about you. And we like to make tax & bookkeeping work fun. So next time you come by bring your dog as we have room for play. Give us a call at 615-730-9444 and visit our website today at www.gunwel.com. See you soon!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 5:29 pm

    This was an awesome post..I laughed, I cried and I got annoyed with you too…NOT AT you…but with you….I agree…people need to put the cell phones done and spend time with their dogs. Not use the dog park as a reason to let your dog loose and forget out it. I actually feel the same way about some parents too. Was in a store, found a little girl (about 2y.o.) wandering around Target alone. When I finally found her mother…she was on the phone “looking” for her daughter but clearly not that concerned that her child had wandered away from her. She stayed on the phone.

  2. August 28, 2012 6:25 pm

    Great weblog right here! Additionally your website so much up fast! What host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your associate link to your host? I want my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  3. April 30, 2013 10:21 am

    I read all your articles! Thanks for all the interesting information.

Leave a Reply

