Skip to content

17 Afghans beheaded…

August 27, 2012

There was the following article posted on the yahoo news feed this morning that gave me a jolt back to monday morning reality.

KABUL, Afghanistan (AP) — Insurgents beheaded 17 civilians in a Taliban-controlled area of southern Afghanistan, apparently because they attended a dance party that flouted the extreme brand of Islam embraced by the militants, officials said Monday.

The killings, in a district where U.S. Marines have battled the Taliban for years, were a reminder of how much power the insurgent group still wields in the south — particularly as international forces draw down and hand areas over to Afghan forces.

The victims were part of a large group that had gathered late Sunday in Helmand province’s Musa Qala district for a celebration involving music and dancing, said district government chief Neyamatullah Khan. He said the Taliban slaughtered them to show their disapproval of the event.

All of the bodies were decapitated but it was not clear if they had been shot first, said provincial government spokesman Daoud Ahmadi.

I was going to tell you about my weekend and how I tried to learn the art of line-dancing at a local Goodlettsville dance bar called Silverado. Then I saw this article and felt compelled to discuss how lucky I am to live in America and have such freedom and all the rights that living in a free society  creates. Never in a million years would I think that going dancing on a friday night would ever cross over into a beheading for political beliefs. Never would I feel that what I wore, who I was in love with, where I lived, who I voted for, the job I did, the color of my skin, the sound of my voice, or the things I blogged about could ever get me killed. Not here in America, not in a free society. When I get in my car to go to the store, or take the dogs to the park, or go to a movie, or have a first great date, or walk to the mailbox, or fly somewhere for vacation, or go grocery shopping…never do I feel my life is endangered (well maybe if the first date is not so great) or that my freedom is compromised. We, living in America, are not conditioned to feel that way.

America promises us endless freedom and attainable dreams beyond belief. I love that fantasy and I say fantasy simply because life is hard. The economy is doing poorly, millions of people are still out of work, poverty is on the rise, domestic violence is on the rise, gas continues to go up and odd unspeakable shootings continue to plague our great country. Freedom comes with a price. But as I was falling over my own two feet, trying to learn the steps from the gal in front of me as we were line dancing…I never once thought of any of this. I was focused on turning the right way or somehow, gracefully, bowing to the right and out of the dance circle. I am lucky that I live in America, even when life is hard. At Gunwel Associates Inc we know what the real world is like, we have all had the same hardships that you have and we are here to help. Give us a call today at 615-730-9444 and visit our website at www.gunwel.com. We want to take the, sometimes, heavy burden of financial issues off your shoulders. We can help, we care. See you soon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 2:37 am

    Woah this weblog is wonderful i like reading your articles. Keep up the great work! You recognize, a lot of individuals are looking around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

Leave a Reply

